top of page
  • Courtney Sayre

Week 9+10 Reflection

I have noted an interesting progression throughout the semester in my thoughts and opinions pertaining to technology and the impact it can have on the eight dimensions of health.

I am someone who was raised to be very wary of technology and told by my parents, to always remain skeptical of any claims made by tech companies and the products they are trying to sell me. This has certainly impacted my opinions of the content we discuss in this class by making me more hesitant to jump on the bandwagon of supporting up and coming technological advances. To me, they initially appear to be doing nothing more than imposing more and more on our privacy.

This class has taught me about the numerous positive impacts this technology can have, however, so long as you are an informed consumer. This places the responsibility on the consumer to ensure they are knowledgeable about what they’re purchasing and incorporating into their daily lives.

For example, the technology company is Focus Education is currently being reprimanded by the FTC for unsupported claims. They claim their product trains the brain of children to have permanent improvements in focus, memory, attention, behavior, and/or school performance, especially with children who have ADHD.

This is a claim that could potentially be harmful to consumers if they don’t do a good job of researching the products they use on their children. This is an example of technology being presented as more effective than it truly is. However, I find it reassuring that the FTC is actively is pursuing these claims and doing their job to protect us against this sort of misrepresentation.

This article also speaks of an app, called AcneApp and Acnepwer, that claims to treat acne using a blue light that is emitted from an I-phone. This is a ridiculous claim that is unfounded and there is no possible way it could be effective. I find it annoying and frustrating that these kinds of products are still being produced and put out to consumers.

On the same note of technology not being all, it’s initially cracked up to be, I recently read this article discussing the effectiveness of Health Promotion Programs based via the internet. I found it to be a bit unnerving that the results of the study found that Programs implemented through the internet are as a whole, rather ineffective. I find this unsettling not because I held particularly high hopes to implement such programs via the internet, but because it makes me wary for the future of the Health Promotion field as our society moves in this increasingly technological direction.

If we cannot keep up with the web-based movement sweeping the globe, how will we continue making a difference in people’s lives by influencing their health behaviors?

On the flip side, I enjoy the positive impacts technological movements can have on people’s lives. One of the best recent examples of this would be the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge that swept the nation in 2014.

Below is a visual example of the money raised by this trend, with a grand total of $115 Million. It shows how this money was broken down into research, patient and community/service, etc.

Obviously, this is a fantastic example of a positive technological experiment. I feel it’s very important for us to examine the way these successful programs were implemented if we have hopes to extend similar progress with other programs in the future.

I also acknowledge that the internet is an amazingly far-reaching platform that when used correctly and effectively, can be an immensely beneficial at raising awareness and acknowledgment of things the public doesn’t typically focus on.

In summary, I feel now more than ever that it is absolutely essential to proceed with caution when believing/buying into technological claims that seem too good to be true. Be cautious and informed consumer and all will be well

2 views0 comments
bottom of page