top of page
  • Courtney Sayre

Alopecia Awareness Month Post

Below is an excerpt from a post I made on my social media accounts in honor of Alopecia Awareness Month.

"Since September is Alopecia Awareness month, I decided to share some pictures of me doing funny things with my head to show that life is awesome, with or without hair!!👶🏼 Alopecia is an autoimmune disorder in which the immune system attacks the hair follicles in the body, eliminating and preventing hair growth. This can result in bald spots, or complete hair loss either solely on the head, or all over the body, including eyebrows, eyelashes, etc. The onset is typically very sudden and unexpected. Everybody is different; some people may start growing their hair back as soon as they lose it, some may go years and years without it! No one has any definite answers for us, so like most things, it's best just to roll with it. Which brings me to my next point... *stands on soapbox* Alopecia has taught me many lessons, but above all else it's shown me the importance of self acceptance and self love. Choose to accept the things you can't change and make the most of whatever you are faced with. You can't control some things that happen to you, but you can ALWAYS control how you react to them. Relate this to whatever challenge in life your faced with. Alopecia or not, my hope is that you all read this with yourself in mind. Accept yourself, for yourself, and for your own happiness. You are you and you are amazing in whatever form you come in. People react positively to positivity. So do your part, spread love and acceptance and others will do the same."

1 view0 comments
bottom of page